2016 CCMA Songwriters’ Series: Full Line-Up and Ticket Information


It's impossible to ignore what some consider to be the greatest aspect of country music, and what makes it resonant as a genre - the song writing. The CCMA Songwriters’ Series celebrates the crafting of original songs and the stories behind the words, indulging listeners with both new and familiar faces in the process. This four-day, acoustic performance event – a marque series as part of Country Music Week – is sure to inspire and evoke strong emotions in all who attend.

Four sessions comprise the CCMA Songwriters’ Series, which will take place over the four days of Country Music Week. Each session features eight Canadian country singer/songwriters; with the exception of the fourth session, being held on Sunday, September 11, which features four masterclass musicians from both sides of the border:

GRAMMY Award-winning recording artist Kristian Bush has been leaving his mark on music for more than two decades. The singer, songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist started his career with folk-rock duo Billy Pilgrim in the early ‘90s; in 2004, he exploded onto the country music scene with Sugarland, surpassing sales of over 22 million albums worldwide, achieving five No. 1 singles and winning numerous awards, including GRAMMYs, AMAs, ACMs, CMT Music Awards and CMAs.  Released in 2015, Bush’s critically-acclaimed debut solo album, Southern Gravity hit the Top 10 of Rolling Stone Country’s Best of 2015 list and won international raves for its feel-good commercial country sound.

Christopher DeStefano is a GRAMMY Award-winning American singer/songwriter, record producer and multi-instrumentalist. As a songwriter, he has numerous #1 songs with artists such as Carrie Underwood (“Good Girl”, "Little Toy Guns"), Billy Currington (“Hey Girl”), Brett Eldredge ("Don't Ya"), Luke Bryan ("That's My Kind of Night", "Kick the Dust Up" ), Miranda Lambert & Carrie Underwood ("Somethin' Bad"), Rascal Flatts ("Rewind") and Jason Aldean ("Just Gettin' Started"). DeStefano also co-wrote the Carrie Underwood seven week #1 song “Something in the Water”, the third longest running female #1 Hot Country song in chart history.

Deric Ruttan is a GRAMMY-nominated singer/songwriter whose songs have been recorded by Eric Church, Blake Shelton, Dierks Bentley, Jason Aldean, Justin Moore, Jason Blaine and dozens of others. He has been recognized by the Canadian music industry with 11 SOCAN Awards, a JUNO nomination for Best Country Record for 2010’s Sunshine, and multiple CCMA Award wins and nominations – he took home the 2014 CCMA Award for Songwriter(s) of the Year for his co-write on “Mine Would Be You”, and is nominated in the same category this year for his second Blake Shelton #1,“Came Here To Forget”

Jeremy Stover is currently one of the hottest songwriters in country music. He has singles on the charts by Frankie Ballard, LOCASH, Jordan Rager, and Tim McGraw. He is also producing artists:  Justin Moore, Drake White, Eli Young Band, Jordan Rager and more. Stover celebrated the #1 song, “Lettin’ The Night Roll,” with Justin Moore last year, which he co-wrote and produced.

Session 1: Thursday, September 8, 1:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Presented by SOCAN
1:00 p.m set                                                        2:15 p.m. set

Hosted by Wes Mack                                    Steve Wilkinson
Mike Robins of Autumn Hill                      Bobby Wills
The Lovelocks                                                    Stacey Lee Guse
Alex Runions                                                       Kelly Prescott

Session 2: Friday, September 9, 5:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Presented by SOCAN
5:00 p.m. set                                                       6:15 p.m. set
Hosted by Jamie Warren                            Eddie Eastman
Jason Benoit                                                      Jaida Dreyer
Keith and Renée                                             *Genevieve Fisher 
*Darren Gusnowsky &                                Jeff Johnson
  Rob Shapiro of Hey Romeo

*Schedule has been changed, this is their NEW performance slot

Session 3: Saturday, September 10, 1:30 – 4:00 p.m.
Presented by SOCAN
1:30 p.m. set                                                       2:45 p.m. set
Hosted by Doc Walker                                 Small Town Pistols
Patricia Conroy                                                 Endless Summer
Drew Gregory                                                   Jessica Mitchell
Kayla Luky                                                            Emma-Lee

Session 4: Sunday, September 11, 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.
Presented by SOCAN and ole
Hosted by Ralph Murphy
Kristian Bush
Christopher DeStefano
Deric Ruttan
Jeremy Stover

Sessions 1, 2 and 3                                   Session 4                          
Wolf Performance Hall                         London Music Hall                                         
Central Library                                           178 Dundas St.             
251 Dundas Street                                   London, ON                                              
London, ON                                                  N6A 1G7          
N6A 6H

TICKET INFORMATION:                  
Tickets go on sale today, Wednesday, August 3 at 12:00 p.m. Tickets for sessions 1, 2 and 3 are $25.00 each (plus applicable fees and taxes), and tickets for session 4 are $30.00 each (plus applicable fees and taxes). Tickets can be purchased online HERE, in-person at the Budweiser Gardens Box Office (located at Gate 1), open Monday through Friday (10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.) and Saturday (10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.), or via phone at 1-866-455-2849.

Media interested in radio interviews with artists announced to perform as part of the CCMA Songwriters’ Series can contact Jess Seguire at jess@penelopePR.com.for information. To apply for Country Music Week media accreditation, CLICK HERE.

Country Music Week 2016 will be held in London, Ontario, September 8 – 11. This marks the first time the event is being held in the city of London, and is a 40th anniversary celebration for the CCMA. For more information on Country Music Week, or the CCMA Songwriters’ Series, visit ccma.org. 


About the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA):
Established in 1976, the CCMA is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization committed to the promotion and recognition of Canadian country music. Built upon the foundation to educate, elevate and celebrate Canadian talent, the CCMA progressively heralds the spirit, community and creativity that country music fosters through year-round initiatives, culminating every fall with Country Music Week and the Canadian Country Music Association Awards. Sponsors of Country Music Week and the 2016 CCMA Awards Show include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and The Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund”, Radio Starmaker Fund, the Province of Ontario, the City of London and Tourism London.  

Media Contacts:
Jess Seguire | jess@penelopepr.com | 613-921-2314
Tiffany Astle | tiffany@penelopepr.com | 416-554-7329 


We acknowledge the financial support of FACTOR, the Government of Canada
and of Canada’s private radio broadcasters.
Nous reconnaissons l’appui financier de FACTOR, du gouvernement du Canada,
et des radio diffuseurs privés du Canada.