CBC Personalities, Country Stars and Canadian Athletes to Present at the 2017 CCMA Awards




September 6, 2017 (Saskatoon, SK) – The Canadian Country Music Association® (CCMA®) and broadcast partner CBC have announced a complete list of star-studded presenters set to take the stage at the 2017 CCMA Awards ShowCatch all the action and some of Canada’s biggest names in television and country music on CBC at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on Sunday, September 10 when the CCMA Awards Show broadcasts from SaskTel Centre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

CBC presenters include comedian Gerry Dee, the creator and star of MR. D; actors Paul Sun-Hyung Lee and Andrew Phung of CBC’s newest hit comedy, KIM’S CONVENIENCE; and resident dragon Manjit Minhas of DRAGONS’ DEN. Two of the new hosts of THE NATIONALAdrienne Arsenault and Andrew Chang, will also present an award, as well as Saskatchewan native Piya Chattopadhyay, host of CBC Radio One’s OUT IN THE OPEN; and CBC Music’s Raina Douris, host of RADIO 2 MORNINGAndi Petrillo, host of CBC Sports’ ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES will be joined on the CCMA stage by Saskatchewan-based U19 North American Indigenous Games competitor Kiana Joseph to present an award.

Great Big Sea frontman Alan Doyle will present on the 2017 CCMA Awards Show as will Lindsay Ell, who is nominated for Female Artist of the Year. Canadian broadcast icon Ron MacLean, SiriusXM Rising Star Award nominee, JoJo Mason, and three-time reigning CCMA Female Artist of the Year, Jess Moskaluke, will also present. GRAMMY-nominated, Nashville country artist Eric Paslay will be in Saskatoon to present, as will Aaron Pritchett, who is up for two CCMA Awards this year. Deric Ruttan, who just celebrated his fourth No. 1 U.S. country single for co-writing Jason Aldean’s “Any Ol’ Barstool” and Tebey, who just scored his first No. 1 U.S. single for his co-write on Justin Moore’s “Somebody Else Will” will each present as well. Saskatchewan Roughriders Kevin Glenn and Brendon LaBatte will add some home province pride to the line-up. Last but not least, special international guest, country superstar and judge of The VoiceBlake Shelton, will present the coveted Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award alongside this year’s CCMA Ultimate Fan Experience™ contest winner, Scott Sykes. Sykes was one of over one thousand fans who submitted a video and written answers explaining why he was Canada’s biggest Canadian country music fan. His PotashCorp Country Music Week and 2017 CCMA Awards experience will be captured September 7-10 on the official CCMA social handles (@CCMAofficial).

Eight CCMA Awards will be presented on the 2017 CCMA Awards Show, including the Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award. This prestigious award, voted on by country music fans, is once again stacked with powerhouse male artists: Gord BamfordDean BrodyChad BrownleeHigh Valley and Dallas Smith. This year, there are three ways for fans to engage with their favourite Canadian country music act and vote:

  • Visit fanvote.ccma.org and click on their favourite act,
  • Visit applemusic.com/CCMAawards and listen to their favourite act,
  • Take to social media and hashtag their choice for the Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award.

For full details on how to take advantage of these opportunities to vote for the 2017 Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award, CLICK HERE.

Fourteen memorable performances have been prepared for the 2017 CCMA Awards Show by Gord Bamford joined by Jim CuddyDean Brody with Shevy Price, Chad Brownlee, Tim Hicks, High Valley, James Barker Band, Brett KisselMeghan PatrickMadeline MerloJess Moskaluke, Dallas SmithThe Washboard Union and international guests, Blake Shelton and Brett Young.

Leading up to the awards, CBC Music will offer exclusive CCMA Award content including artist interviews.

Starting at 5:30 p.m. ET on September 10th, fans can watch the stars walk the John Deere Green Carpet via CBCMusic.ca/CCMAAwards and CBC Music’s Facebook and YouTube pages.

Tickets for the 2017 CCMA Awards Show are still available. Tickets can be purchased online HERE, by calling 1-800-970-7328, or by visiting the SaskTel Centre Box Office (3515 Thatcher Ave., Saskatoon, SK).

For more information on the 2017 CCMA Awards Show or PotashCorp Country Music Week, visit ccma.org.


About the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) 
Established in 1976, the CCMA is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization committed to the promotion and recognition of Canadian country music. Built upon the foundation to educate, elevate and celebrate Canadian talent, the CCMA progressively heralds the spirit, community and creativity that country music fosters through year-round initiatives, culminating every fall with Country Music Week and the Canadian Country Music Association Awards. Sponsors of PotashCorp Country Music Week and the 2017 CCMA Awards Show include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund”, Radio Starmaker Fund, the Province of Saskatchewan, the City of Saskatoon, Tourism Saskatchewan and Tourism Saskatoon. Produced with the participation of the Bell Fund. 

About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. We are Canada’s trusted source of news, information and Canadian entertainment. Deeply rooted in communities all across the country, CBC/Radio-Canada offers diverse content in English, French and eight Indigenous languages. We also provide international news and information from a uniquely Canadian perspective. In 2017, CBC/Radio-Canada will be at the heart of the celebrations and conversations with special 2017-themed multiplatform programming and events across Canada.  Produced with the participation of the Bell Fund. 

Media Contacts for Information and Artist Interviews
Jess Seguire | jess@penelopepr.com | 613-921-2314
Tiffany Astle | tiffany@penelopepr.com | 416-554-7329