Hall of Fame Inductees

We are proud of all Hall of Fame Inductees and their contribution to Canadian country music. Click on the Inductee name for more information.

Dallas Harms

  • Inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame in 1989
  • Birth: July 18, 1935 - Drake, Saskatchewan


Dallas Harms has been an important and integral part of Canada’s country music industry since 1958, and is considered one of our country’s most successful country music writers.

Born in Saskatchewan and raised in Hamilton, Ontario, Harms began his career in the mid-1950s, making his first record in 1959. His first big hits came in the 1970s with, ‘In the Loving Arms of My Marie’ and ‘Old Ira Gray’, followed by subsequent hits, ‘Georgia I’m Cheating On You Tonight’, ‘It’s Crying Time For Me’, and ‘The Ballad of the Duke’.

Harms has a proven track record as a songwriter on both the Canadian and American charts. His greatest success, ‘Paper Rosie’ recorded by the great, Gene Watson in 1977 became the #1 single on both Casbox and Record World, the #2 single on the Billboard Country Singles Charts, and won him the RPM Big Country Awards ‘Best Single’ in 1975. Watson also recorded and had major US hits with, ‘The Old Man’, ‘His Horn’, ‘Cowboys Don’t Get Lucky All The Time’, and ‘Get Along Little Doggie’. Others to record his songs included Orval Prophet, Billy Walker, George Hamilton IV and The Osborne Brothers.

The road that Harms travelled has taken him across Canada many times with innumerable radio and television appearances, as well as touring the world performing in such places as Wembley Stadium, and representing Canada at the International Country Music Festival in Nashville. He has also performed in New Zealand and in England.

Harms has won multiple RPM Big Country Awards for ‘Top Composer’, ‘Top Producer’ and won ‘Best Album’ in 1978; has won multiple Big Country Awards for ‘Songwriter of the Year’, ‘Top Single of the Year’, and ‘Top Producer of the Year’; and multiple CCMA Awards including, ‘Record Company Person of the Year’ and ‘Record Producer of the Year’.