Hall of Fame Inductees

We are proud of all Hall of Fame Inductees and their contribution to Canadian country music. Click on the Inductee name for more information.

Bev Munro

  • Inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame in 2002
  • Birth: Boissivain, Manitoba
  • Death: April 4, 2018


Bev Munro’s career path started just 40 miles north of his hometown, Boissevan, Manitoba, at CKX in Brandon, playing country music for fans. Bev moved on to radio stations in Dauphin, Sudbury, Moose Jaw and Regina before settling at CFCW in Camrose, Alberta where he spent 30 years behind the microphone. As the morning host, he began the ever-popular Mystery Artist Request Line and his famous Knee-Slapper segment. In 1959, Munro was named Mr. DJ USA, along with Ralph Emery, at WSM in Nashville, Tennesse, an honour that no other Canadian DJ had earned at the time.

In addition to his robust broadcast career, Bev also scored a recording contract with Capitol Records, with his first hit song being "Hello Operator". His songs were recorded by R. Harlan Smith, Chris Nielsen, Hank Smith, Joyce Smith, Scotty Stevenson and Bill Hersh. Once retired from radio, The Voice of CFCW, still continued to MC shows, sing songs and keep people laughing with his humour. He spent time on the road with the Alberta Country Music Legends into his later years. The Bev Munro Award, established by the Alberta-based Association of Canadian Country Music Legends, is presented annually to recipients for their dedication and promotion of traditional country music in Alberta.

Bev Munro Photo Album